Our People

First Steps Count Incorporated is a not-for-profit organisation led by a team of qualified, passionate, motivated volunteers.

Originally a Management Committee, the First Steps Count Board of Management was established in 2019.

First Steps Count Inc. acknowledges the input and support of many members of the community over the years working to drive this important project forward.

Board membership is voluntary and is made up of five executive positions (President, Vice President, Treasurer, Secretary and PUblic Officer) and non-executive positions. 

The Board is made up of leaders in early childhood, business, community and research, representing indigenous and non-indigenous groups.

Rosemary Sinclair AO

Interim President

Anne Gilchrist

Vice President

Sue Russell

Secretary & Public Officer

Arthur Salmon


Clare Brennan

Transition Manager

Melissa Foster

Board Member

Paul Hogan

Board Member

Donna Carrier

Board Member

Steve Atkins

Board Member

Isabel Bungie

Board Member

Denise Russell

Board Member

Janett Watts

Board Member

Russell McFarland, Austin McFarland Architects

Architect / Project Manager

W&G Duber


Caroline Pidcock

Sustainability Guide